Poetry #4 ~ It’s not you it’s me, I deserve better.

I felt like a fallen flower

Beautiful yet destroyed

The whole field looked fresh as it could be

Only my body seemed to have died;

I felt like the moon

Shiny and bright

But I still needed the sun

To help with me with my light;

I felt like a lost child

Running around in the park

Searching for a guardian

So that I could reach home before dark;

I felt like an unanswered video call

Sitting there staring at my face

Wondering about my worth

And asking myself why I need to chase;

I felt like a burnt piece of paper

Struggling to hold myself together

While the fire kept pushing me away from you

And a little more towards the end;

The end of that part of me

That loved you

That cared for you

That gave you its all

That part may still live inside me

And appear on some dark days

And now I need to manage

To let you go

And to let this part of me go

That so gracefully followed your path

Of emptiness…

Published by Srishti Sharma

Writer, Spiritual, Foodie. Lost in a world not visible to human eyes...

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started